Protective Orders

WARNING: If you are in immediate danger, call 911.

Others can tell what Internet sites you have visited on your computer, and your search history may be difficult to erase. To be safe while on the Internet, you may want to use a computer at a public library, a friend’s house, or your workplace. It’s also a good idea to change your password often.

 

RESOURCES: (click on the link or call)

National Domestic Violence Hotline:links to external site 800-799-7233 (TTY 800-787-3224)

AZ Coalition to End Sexual and Domestic Violence:links to external site 602-279-2900 or 800-782-6400

Arizona Supreme Court Help Website: AZCourtHelp.orglinks to external site


NOTE: Beginning January 1, 2020, all Protective Orders that are granted are immediately transmitted to law enforcement for service.  Please make sure you have a Safety Planlinks to external site (Españollinks to external site) when this occurs.

AZ Point Logolinks to external site
azpoint.azcourts.gov/links to external site 

AZPOINT, the Arizona Protective Order Initiation and Notification Tool, has been designed to help you fill out a petition for an Order of Protection. Through an interview in AZPOINT, you can quickly and accurately fill out the forms that are needed to request an Order of Protection at an Arizona court. An Order of Protection is a court order that is issued to stop a person from committing domestic violence or from contacting other people protected by the order. The portal will also help you figure out whether you (the plaintiff) and the person from whom you are seeking protection (the defendant) have a qualifying relationship for an Order of Protection. Your information will be saved in AZPOINT for up to 90 days. At any time during this 90-day period, you may take the next step of filing your petition at an Arizona court. Until you file your petition at a court, you will be able to return to AZPOINT to update your information if necessary. You are encouraged to speak to a victim advocate before you file your petition. An advocate can help you make a safety plan and give you more information about how an Order of Protection works and how it will be served on the defendant.

Protective Orders can be issued by any court in the State of Arizona. Petitions can be filled out online at azpoint.azcourts.govlinks to external site.  All petitions must be filed in-person during normal business hours. Please refer to the contact and hours information.  After normal Court business hours and during weekends and holidays, any police officer can assist you in obtaining an emergency order of protection.
If you need any assistance when you arrive at the court, please let court staff know.  During the hearing, be prepared to provide sworn testimony to support your petition. Have specific dates, times, and places for events which you feel constitute the issuance of the protective order. There are no court fees for filing a petition for a protective order.  The court has a Spanish interpreter on staff that can assist you. If you need an interpreter for another language including ASL, please contact the court to make an appointment as soon as possible so that we can have an interpreter onsite to better assist you with your petition.

You can request one of the following types of protective orders:

ORDER OF PROTECTION: An Order of Protection is used for a “family” relationship between you and the Defendant. This can include any of the following: 1) married now or in the past, 2) live together now or lived together in the past, 3) parent of a child in common, 4) one of you is pregnant by the other, 5) you are a relative (parent, in-law, brother, sister, or grandparent, or 6) current or previous romantic or sexual relationship. Also, you must state how an act of domestic violence was threatened or committed against you within the last year.

INJUNCTION AGAINST HARASSMENT: The Defendant has committed a series of acts (more than one) of harassment against you in the last year, or an act or acts of sexual violence as defined in A.R.S. § 23-371links to external site. There are no court fees for service of process if the petition arises out a dating relationship or where the harassment is sexual violence as defined in A.R.S. § 23-371 that is served by law enforcement agency.

INJUNCTION AGAINST WORKPLACE HARASSMENT: This injunction may be filed by an employer or owner of a business or operation for the benefit of an employee or the business against a single act or series of acts of harassment.

Need Help?

480-312-3111

General City Information/Speak to a Citizen Service Specialist


Stay Up To Date

Manage Newsletter Subscriptions
(Subscribe / Unsubscribe)