Events and Activities

Full Moon and Sunset Hikes

These cool evening hikes to the Grandview Overlook allow visitors to experience the park after hours at their own pace. These hikes are safe and fun for the whole family. Events last approximately 1.5 hours. Staff and volunteers will be on the trail to assist visitor and answer questions. A moderate 1.5-mile round trip hike. No fee but registration is required.

Upcoming Dates

Full Moon Hikes

  • Sunday, Oct. 9, 2022 at 6:15 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2022 at 5:45 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2022 at 5:30 p.m.
  • Friday, Jan. 6, 2023 at 5:45 - 7:15 p.m.
  • Sunday, Feb. 5, 2023 at 6:15 - 7:45 p.m.
  • Tuesday, Mar. 7, 2023 at 6:45 - 8:15 p.m.
  • Thursday, April 6, 2023 at 7 - 8:30 p.m.
  • Friday, May 5, 2023 at 7:30 - 9 p.m.
  • Friday, Sept. 29, 2023 at 6:30 - 8 p.m.
  • Saturday, Oct. 28, 2023 at 6 - 7:30 p.m.
  • Monday, Nov. 27, 2023 at 5:30 - 7 p.m.
  • Wednesday, Dec. 27, 2023 at 5:30 - 7 p.m.

Sunset Hikes

  • Saturday, Feb. 11, 2023 at 5:45 - 7:15 p.m.
  • Saturday, Mar. 18, 2023 at 6:30 - 8 p.m.
  • Sunday, April 16, 2023 at 6:45 - 8:15 p.m.

Registration & Information

  • Online Registration is Required.
  • Registration begins 7 days prior to the event date.
  • Contact the Park’s Visitor Center 480-312-0990 for more information.

Register Online

Hikes are canceled if rainy or overcast conditions exist. Call the afternoon of the event to reconfirm.

Astronomy Evenings

Participants are invited to enjoy a beautiful desert evening under the stars and learn about some of the objects visible in the night sky. NASA Solar System Ambassador Mark Johnston (instagram: @azastroguy) will highlight that evening's visible objects, including planets, multiple star systems, globular clusters and nebulae through a high end refractor telescope, while providing a running commentary and fielding questions from the group.

Beginners are welcome as the explanations will be kept at a novice level. No hiking is required. Participants are encouraged to bring binoculars and a small penlight flashlight. Program duration is approximately one and a half hours.

Pinnacle Peak Astronomy

 

Upcoming Dates

  • Friday, Oct. 14, 2022 at 6:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, Nov. 12, 2022 at 6 p.m.
  • Sunday, Dec. 18, 2022 at 6:30 p.m.
  • Friday, Jan. 6, 2023 at 6:15 p.m.
  • Friday, Feb. 3, 2023 at 6:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, Mar. 5, 2023 at 7 p.m.
  • Monday, Apr. 3, 2023 at 7:15 p.m.
  • Thursday, May 4, 2023 at 7:45 p.m.
  • Friday, June 2, 2023 at 8 p.m.
  • Friday, Sept. 22, 2023 at 7 p.m.
  • Friday, Oct. 13, 2023 at 6:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, Nov. 12, 2023 at 6 p.m.
  • Sunday, Dec. 10, 2023 at 6 p.m.
  • Friday, Jan. 12, 2024 at 6:15 p.m.

Registration & Information

  • Online Registration is Required.
  • Registration begins 14 days prior to the event date.
  • Contact the Park’s Visitor Center 480-312-0990 for more information.

Register Online

Astronomy Evenings are canceled if rainy or overcast conditions exist. Call the afternoon of the event to reconfirm.

Wildlife Discovery Programs

Stop by and experience native wildlife of the Sonoran Desert. Local non-profit wildlife rescue, rehabilitation, and education organizations will be near the Ramada exhibiting live animals. This education opportunity is free for visitors of all ages.

Upcoming Dates

  • Saturday, Oct. 8, 2022, 10 a.m. - noon, Southwest Wildlife
  • Saturday, Oct. 22, 2022, 10 a.m. - noon, Phoenix Herpetological
  • Saturday, Nov. 5, 2022, 10 a.m. - noon, Southwest Wildlife
  • Saturday, Nov. 12, 2022,10 a.m. - noon, Liberty Wildlife
  • Saturday, Feb. 4, 2023, 10 a.m. - noon, Wild at heart
  • Saturday, Feb. 11, 2023, 10 a.m. - noon, Phoenix Herpetological
  • Saturday, Mar. 4, 2023, 10 a.m. - noon, Southwest Wildlife
  • Saturday, Mar. 11, 2023, 10 a.m. - noon, Liberty Wildlife

Park Information

Pinnacle Peak Park
26802 N. 102nd Way
Scottsdale, AZ 85262
P: 480-312-0990

Dave Myers 
Natural Resources Supervisor
P: 480-312-0995
dmyers@scottsdaleaz.gov

Map
Trail Map (PDF)

Hours (PDF)

NOTE: The evening trail closure routine begins on the west end of the park one hour prior to the posted closing time. If you are not at the end of the trail one hour prior to closing, you will need to turn around when you meet the trail rangers.