1960 1961 1962 1963 1964 1965 1996 1967 1968 1969


02/16/1960 - Councilmember Bratzel resigned; Councilmember Kelley appointed
02/23/1960 - Special Charter Election (approved 240 to 47)
03/07/1960 - Scottsdale's first Charter was approved by Governor Paul Fannin, but later ruled invalid by the Courts
*04/19/1960 - Primary Election (canvassed 04/25/60); Mayor and four Councilmembers elected
- General Election (canvassed 05/31/60); two Councilmembers elected
- Mayor and six Councilmembers sworn into office.  As required by the new Charter to stagger the initial Council terms, Kimsey, Knudsen, Marron, and Schrader received two-year terms; Kelley, Pickrell, and Smith received one-year terms.
09/20/1960 - Councilmembern Smith resigned during the 09/20/60 Council meeting, after casting the single vote against expanding the City Sewer System
10/20/1960 - Councilmember Hutchins appointed



02/21/1961 - Primary Election (canvassed 02/27/61)
**03/28/1961 - General Election (canvassed 04/03/61)
04/04/1961 - Three Councilmembers sworn into office
04/17/1961 - The City reverted back to a common law City because the first Charter election was ruled invalid by the Courts.  As a result, at the 04/17/61 Council meeting, former Councilmembers Moya Kelley, E.G. Scott, John Pickrell, and Robert Hutchins returned and resigned one at a time, and, respectively, the newly-elected Councilmembers Arthur Petersen, John Knudsen, C.W. “Bill” Clayton, and William J. Flanigan were appointed to succeed them.  Before tendering his resignation, Councilmember Pickrell asked to go on record as opposing the Heinrick Thiele water survey because he did not believe it was a logical or appropriate expenditure with the City being short of finances.  Councilmembers Kelley and Schrader also voiced objections before tendering their resignations.  The "new" Councilmembers were sworn into office at the same meeting.
06/12/1961 - Second Freeholder Election held (canvassed 06/20/61)
09/05/1961 - Acting as a Charter Commission, the City's second Board of Freeholders submitted the City's second Charter
10/31/1961 - Special Charter Election (approved 209 to 60)
11/16/1961 - Second Charter was approved by Governor Paul Fannin

Board of Freeholders:

  • Charles Christakis, Chairman
  • Daniel Weisberger, Vice-Chairman
  • Robert D. Gruntz, Secretary
  • Donald H. Collar
  • John Cummings
  • Harry Hyder
  • John A. LaSota
  • John H. Matthews
  • Sam R. Russell
  • Thomas A. Sams, Jr.
  • Gailaen G. Scott
  • Andy Segedy
  • Elmer L. Smith
  • Malcolm S. White



02/20/1962 - Primary Election (canvassed 02/26/62)
**03/22/1962 - General Election (canvassed 04/02/62); Mayor and six Councilmembers elected under the new Charter
04/03/1962 - Mayor and six Councilmembers sworn into office



06/18/1963 - Councilmember Meacham resigned because he was transferring out of the City; Councilman Felke appointed
09/03/1963 - Councilmember Felke resigned due to too many conflicts of interest between his office and his occupation
10/01/1963 - Councilmember Reuss appointed 
10/29/1963 - Special Bond Election for sewer system improvement revenue bonds in the principal amount of $7.5M; approved 1,409 to 232 (canvassed 11/12/63)



02/18/1964 - Primary Election (canvassed 02/25/64)
03/24/1964 - General Election (canvassed 03/31/66)
04/05/1966 - Mayor and six Councilmembers sworn into office**
09/29/1964 - A Special Council Meeting was held for the purpose of considering the resignation of two city officials.  Mayor Woudenberg resigned, citing pressures of his business.  A reporter from the Scottsdale Progress was permitted to read a series of prepared questions to which the Council responded.  Planning Commissioner Tilton Keefe resigned at the same meeting.
10/20/1964 - Councilmember Clayton appointed Mayor; Councilmember Auxier appointed



12/21/1965 - Mayor Clayton passed away



01/04/1966 - Councilmember Johnson criticized the public address system
01/06/1966 - Councilmember Tims was appointed Mayor due to the untimely death of Mayor Clayton, at which time the Council also appointed Councilmember Murray to fill Mayor Tims' unexpired Council term.  At this meeting, newly appointed Mayor Tims stated that he was withdrawing his name from 02/15/66 Primary Election ballot as a Council candidate, and would offer himself as a write-in candidate for Mayor instead.
*02/15/1966 - Primary Election (canvassed 03/01/66); Mayor and four Councilmembers elected
**03/22/1966 - General Election (canvassed 03/28/66); two Councilmembers elected
04/05/1966 - Mayor and six Councilmembers sworn into office
09/27/1966 - Special Bond Election for construction of the City Hall and Library; approved 3,608 to 1,874 (canvassed 10/10/66)



11/07/1967 - Special Eection for six Charter amendments; all six questions approved (canvassed 11/13/67)



*02/20/1968 - Primary Election (canvassed 02/26/68); Mayor and six Councilmembers elected to staggered two-year and four-year terms, as required by the Charter.  Councilmembers Johnson, McCauley, and Senini received two-year terms; Mayor Tims and Councilmembers Jenkins, Jones, and Murray received four-year terms.
04/02/1968 - Mayor and Council sworn into office
09/03/1968 - Councilmember McCauley's resignation accepted (effective 08/30/68); Councilmember Hink appointed