



## Acknowledgements

**CITY COUNCIL** 

Mayor David D. Ortega

Tammy Caputi

Tom Durham

Barry Graham

Betty Janik

Kathy Littlefield

Solange Whitehead

**PLANNING COMMISSION** 

Chair Renee Higgs

George Ertel

Barney Gonzales

Diana Kaminski

William Scarbrough

Christian Serena

Joe Young

**PROJECT STAFF** 

Jim Thompson, City Manager

Brent Stockwell, Assistant City Manager

Bill Murphy, Assistant City Manager

Erin Perreault, Planning, Economic Development + Tourism Executive Director

Mark Melnychenko, Transportation + Streets Director

Karen Churchard, Tourism + Events Director

Sherry Scott, City Attorney

Joe Padilla, Deputy City Attorney

Eric Anderson, Senior City Attorney

Adam Yaron, Planning + Development Area Manager, Project Manager

Brad Carr, Planning + Development Area Manager, Project Manager

Taylor Reynolds, Principal Planner

Ben Moriarity, Senior Planner

Nick Carroll, Planner

## **SPECIAL THANKS**

Appreciation is expressed to the many citizens, community members, and staff, too numerous to list individually, who contributed so generously to this project.

## Contents

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY	1
VISION STATEMENT	5
CHAPTER 1 • LAND USE	
Introduction	<i>7</i> .
Goals and Policies	8
CHAPTER 2 • CHARACTER & DESIGN	
Introduction	
Goals and Policies	
CHAPTER 3 • MOBILITY	
Introduction	27
Goals and Policies	28
CHAPTER 4 • ARTS & CULTURE	
Introduction	39
Goals and Policies	40
CHAPTER 5 • ECONOMIC VITALITY	
Introduction	43
Goals and Policies	44
GLOSSARY	48
RELATED PLANS, ORDINANCES & DOCUMENTS	54
IMPLEMENTATION	56

Contents