Search Home

Character Area Plans

Background

Character Areas

The city of Scottsdale has a long history of using area-based plans to provide policy and program direction for certain areas of the city. Consequently, Character Area Plans are components of the General Plan that focus on long range, area-related goals and policies.  To avoid repetition, Character Area Plans supplement the city-wide goals and policies provided by the General Plan. 

The 2001 General Plan designated twenty-four (24) areas within the city intended to have specific Character Area Plans; however, as of today, seven (7) character areas have been adopted -- Cactus Corridor (1992), Shea Area (1993), Desert Foothills (1999), Dynamite Foothills (2000), Downtown (2009), Greater Airpark (2010), and Southern Scottsdale (2010).

Resources

Character Area Plan Processes (PDF) - Feb. 13, 2007

Character Area Presentation (PDF) - City Council, Feb. 13, 2007

Adopted Character Areas

Contact Information

City of Scottsdale – Long Range Planning
7447 E. Indian School Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 
P: 480-312-7000
planninginfo@scottsdalazg.gov

Office Hours
Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Erin Perreault, AICP
Long Range Planning Manager
P: 480-312-7093
Email: eperreault@ScottsdaleAZ.gov

Adam Yaron
Project Coordination Liaison
P: 480-312-2761
Email: ayaron@ScottsdaleAZ.gov

Sara Javoronok, AICP
Project Coordination Liaison
P: 480-312-7918
Email: sjavoronok@ScottsdaleAZ.gov

Bob Wood
Project Coordination Liaison
P: 480-312-2700
Email: bwood@ScottsdaleAZ.gov

Taylor Reynolds
Senior Planner
P: 480-312-7924
Email: treynolds@ScottsdaleAZ.gov

Brandon McMahon
Associate Planner
P: 480-312-7321
Email: bmcmahon@ScottsdaleAZ.gov

Michelle Holmes
Operation Fix-It
P: 480-312-7321
Email: mholmes@ScottsdaleAZ.gov