SCOTTSDALE CITY COURT Effective |

3700 N. 75" Street, Scottsdale, Arizona 85251 (480) 312-2442 1/1/2016 I
You can obtain case specific information such as next court date and fine amounts as well as pay your fine online at O ies
www.scottsdaleaz.gov/courts ver. 3/31/2016

You have just received a traffic complaint and this document will explain your options. Please read this document thoroughly. Be sure to
read both sides of your traffic complaint. You must respond to the court in person or, if eligible, use the options below, on or before the date
and time indicated on your traffic complaint.

Your traffic complaint has a check box in the lower right section above your signature. If the Criminal box is checked, you MUST appear in
court on your court date.

NO FOOD, DRINK, OR WEAPONS OF ANY TYPE ARE ALLOWED IN THE COURT BUILDING.

If the check box in the lower left section above your signature is checked Civil, you have received a civil traffic complaint and your options
are detailed within this document. You may choose one of four options, or you may appear on or before the date and time shown on your
civil traffic complaint to resolve your case. If you have multiple violations on your civil traffic complaint, you will need to indicate your choice
for each violation.
= Option 1 — Attend Defensive Driving School
If you are eligible, and you attend, the eligible traffic violation will be dismissed and no points will be placed on your record. You will only
pay an enrollment fee to the school. Do not pay the court fine. See below.

= Option 2 — Pay Online, by Mail, or by Phone
Waive your right to a hearing, enter a plea of responsible, and pay the fine. You do not have to appear in court. Payment must be
received by the court prior to your court date. We suggest allowing at least 5 days for mailed payment. Payment can be made online at
www.scottsdaleaz.gov/courts, by mail in provided envelope, or by phone at (480) 312-2442. See below.

= Option 3 — Request a Hearing
At your hearing, you may bring witnesses and you will have the opportunity to present your case before a judge. Once the hearing begins,
you can no longer attend Defensive Driving Class and if you are found responsible, ALL FINES ARE DUE IN FULL at the conclusion of your
hearing. See below.

= Option 4 — Request a Documentary Hearing
If you are eligible, you may request and receive a hearing that will allow written testimony in lieu of a mandatory court appearance. See
below.

Option 1- ATTEND DEFENSIVE DRIVING SCHOOL
Attending defensive driving school provides the opportunity to have one eligible charge (see below) dismissed without: going to court; points
assessed for that charge; negative impact on your insurance; and paying a fine for that charge.

You are eligible to attend a defensive driving class if you meet all of the following requirements:

1. You have not attended a Defensive Driving Class within 12 months from the date of your last violation for which you were authorized to
attend a defensive driving school.

2. Your traffic charge did not result from an accident involving death or serious physical injury.

3. Your traffic charge has not already been set to a hearing.

4. You do not hold a commercial driver license or are a driver of a commercial motor vehicle that requires a commercial driver license (A.R.S.
§28-3392).

WHAT TO DO:
1. If you wish to attend a class; in Arizona, in another state, or online you may do so by contacting a school certified by the State of Arizona.
2. To find a certified school either:

Visit http://www.azdrive.com and look for Defensive Driving School Entry Point and click on Scottsdale City Court.

OR

Call the Defensive Driving School information line at 1-888-334-5565 (automated response only).
3. You must complete the online program or attend a class 7 days prior to your next court date.
4. Once registered, if you need more time to complete the class, the school can grant a one time, 45 day extension. If you need additional

extensions, you will need to file a motion with the court.

FAILURE TO COMPLETE THE DEFENSIVE DRIVING CLASS MAY RESULT IN A DEFAULT JUDGMENT AND/OR YOUR DRIVER LICENSE
SUSPENSION AND ADDITIONAL MONETARY PENALTIES.
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FINE SCHEDULE

Listed below are VIOLATION CODES with fine amounts including Mandatory State surcharges and assessments. If payment is NOT RECEIVED
by the court date on your ticket, a $20 Time Payment Fee per case, plus an additional $65 Default Fee on each civil charge will be imposed.

VIOLATIONS ELIGIBLE FOR DEFENSIVE DRIVING SCHOOL

VIOLATIONS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR DEFENSIVE DRIVING SCHOOL

Note: See Defensive Driving School restrictions - Option 1

Violation Code Amount Violation Code Amount
28-644A1& A2 $258 PEDESTRIAN VIOLATIONS
28-645A, 1A, A1B & 28-645C $306 28-645A3D $306
28-645A3A, A3B, A3C & 28-645B $306 28-646A1, A2 & B $258
28-647.1 & 28-647.2 $258 28-793A to 793C $258
28-651 $258 28-796A to 796C $258
28-701A & 702.01C EQUIPMENT, OVERWEIGHT & TOWING VIOLATIONS
Up to 9 mph over speed limit $258 28-921A1A to 28-954D $225
10-15 mph over speed limit $267 28-956 to 28-1098B $225
16-20 mph over speed limit $287 REGISTRATION & DRIVER LICENSE VIOLATIONS
21-29 mph over speed limit $345 28-2058A2B $225
30-39 mph over speed limit $382 28-2153A, B1 & B2 $657.20
40+ mph over the speed limit $444 28-2158C $225
28-701.02A1 thru 28-701.02A3 MUST APPEAR IN COURT 28-2354A1, B, B1, B2 & B3 $225
28-701E $258 28-2533A $657.20
28-704A to 28-706B $258 28-3151A to 28-3174E $225
28-709A1 & A2; 28-710A & B $258 SEAT BELT VIOLATIONS
28-710B $339.86 28-909A1, A2 & B1 & B2 | $126.50
28-721A to 28-776A (except 28-737A) $258 SCOTTSDALE CITY CODE
28-737A $474.20 17-93.6 (Driving in a Bike Lane) $225
28-792A & B; 28-794.1 to 28-794.3 $258 17-94B & 17-94I (lllegal operation of a motorized skateboard $225
28-797F & G $267
28-797H & | $353.78
28-815D $258
28-855B to 28-856.3 $258
28-857 (first offense) $602
28-891A to 28-897 $258
28-906 $258

A.R.S. 28-645A3A — Red-Light Violations: Persons found responsible or entering a plea of responsible for red-light traffic control signals,
including flashing stop signals violations, will be ordered by the Motor Vehicle Division to attend and successfully complete Traffic Survival

School or suffer suspension of driving privileges.

A.R.S. 28-2532A — No Vehicle Registration: $657.20. Mail or provide proof of current registration for reduced fine of $199.70.

A.R.S. 28-3169A — No Driver License in Possession: Dismissed upon proof of driver license valid on the date and time of the violation.

Provide a copy of both front and back of your driver license.

A.R.S. 28-907A - Child Passenger Restraint: If you have been cited for “failure to use”, the fine is $199.70. However, if you attend CAPP
(Children Are Priceless Passengers) program, the fine will be suspended with proof of completion. Call the court for further information.

A.R.S. 28-4135B & C - No Proof of Insurance: $1,063.00 fine for a 1* offense. If you provide proof on or before your appearance date
showing that the vehicle involved was insured on the DATE & TIME the complaint was issued, the charge will be dismissed.
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For option 2, 3, or 4, write the traffic complaint number here:

AND print the following information:

Name Mailing Address

City State Zip Code Phone ( ) Daytime Phone ( )

Option 2 - PAY ONLINE, BY MAIL, OR BY PHONE

1. READ AND SIGN the following statement: | hereby waive my right to a hearing, enter a plea of responsible, and consent to judgment imposing the prescribed fine:

Signature Parent’s Signature (required if less than 18)

2. See fine schedule above for fine amount; list amount in Fine Amount column. If your court date has passed, add the Default Cost of $65 per charge, and the additional $20
Time Payment Fee. The court date is above your signature on the complaint. Pay the Grand Total amount under the Total Fine column. Do not send cash.

FINE $65 Default Cost Total Fine
(per charge, if applicable)
Charge1$ $65.00 S
Charge2$ $65.00 S
Charge3$ $65.00 S
Charge 4 $ $65.00 S
Charge5$ $65.00 S
$20 Time Payment Fee, if applicable S
GRAND TOTAL S

3. How to pay: Online at www.scottsdaleaz.gov/courts, credit card, check, money order, or cashier’s check made payable to Scottsdale City Court, or by phone at (480) 312-2442.

Credit Card Payment: Complete the following information:

___VISA ___ MasterCard __American Express ___ Discover
Card Number Expiration Date Daytime phone
Cardholder’s Name Signature

If paying by mail, place this sheet with your payment, along with your complaint or a copy, in the envelope provided, stamp and mail.

ALL PAYMENTS MUST BE RECEIVED BY THE COURT DATE. FAILURE TO DO SO MAY RESULT IN A DEFAULT JUDGMENT AND DRIVER LICENSE SUSPENSION WITH ADDITIONAL
MONETARY PENALTIES BEING IMPOSED.

Option 3 - REQUEST A HEARING
1. READ AND SIGN the following statement: | hereby request a hearing to contest the charges indicated below. | hereby enter my plea of not responsible. | understand that |
am giving up the option of attending a Defensive Driving Class for those charges for which | have requested a hearing.

Signature Parent’s Signature (required if less than 18)
Persons under the age of 18 appearing in court must be accompanied by parent or guardian.

2. Indicate below, the charge(s) for which you are requesting a hearing. The numbers run vertically down the left side of the complaint.

1 2 3 4 5

3. Check if applicable:
__lwill be represented by an attorney.
___lwillneed aninterpreter.  (Language):

4. Place this sheet, along with your complaint or a copy, in the envelope provided, stamp and mail at least five working days before your court date.
You will be notified of your assigned hearing date by mail. You must appear on that date and be ready to present evidence and examine witnesses in front of a Hearing Officer.

YOU MUST BE PREPARED TO PAY ANY FINE IMPOSED THE DAY OF YOUR HEARING. FAILURE TO APPEAR MAY RESULT IN A DEFAULT JUDGMENT AND DRIVER LICENSE
SUSPENSION WITH ADDITIONAL MONETARY PENALTIES BEING IMPOSED.

Option 4 - REQUEST A DOCUMENTARY HEARING

IF YOU LIVE OUTSIDE THE STATE OF ARIZONA OR HAVE A SUBSTANTIAL HARDSHIP which prevents you from physically attending a hearing AND you wish to plead not
responsible for the violation(s), you may qualify for a Documentary Hearing pursuant to Rule 10 Civil Traffic Rules. This will allow you to file a written declaration of the facts
surrounding the violation rather than appear in person at a hearing. The written request for a Documentary Hearing must be received prior to your appearance date.

DOCUMENTARY HEARING INSTRUCTIONS
1. To receive the Request Form, read and sign the following statement: | believe that | qualify for a Documentary Hearing and would like to receive the Request Form. (Forms
are also located on our website at www.scottsdaleaz.gov/courts).

Signature Parent’s Signature (required if less than 18)

POSTING A BOND. A bond is not required. By posting a bond, you will eliminate any requirement to pay the mandatory $20 Time Payment Fee if you are found responsible and
are unable to pay on the hearing date. The bond amount is equal to the total fine for the violation(s) on your traffic complaint.
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