SCOTTSDALE

PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING

MEETING NOTICE AND AGENDA



PLANNING COMMISSION

Renee Higgs, Chair Joe Young, Vice Chair George Ertel William Scarbrough Barney Gonzales Christian Serena Barry Graham

Wednesday, January 12, 2022

5:00 P.M. MARKED

PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING

City Hall Kiva Forum, 3939 N. Drinkwater Boulevard

Call to Order 5:00 PM

Roll Call – All Present, Commissioner Ertel and Commissioner Graham participating virtually.

Public Comment

Public Comment time is reserved for citizens to comment on non-agendized items that are within the Planning Commission's jurisdiction and is limited to a total of 15 minutes. No official Planning Commission action can be taken on these items. **Speakers may submit a comment card to address the Planning Commission and are limited to three minutes.**

Administrative Report and possible discussion – Tim Curtis

Minutes

1. Approval of the December 15, 2021 Regular Meeting Minutes

Vice Chair Young moved to approve the December 15, 2021 regular meeting minutes. Seconded by Commissioner Gonzales, the motion carried unanimously with a vote of seven (7) to zero (0).

ACTION ITEMS

How the Action Agenda Works: The Planning Commission may take one vote to act on all items on the Continuance Agenda and one vote on all items on the Consent Agenda or may remove items for further discussion as appropriate. The Planning Commission takes separate action on each item on the Regular Agenda.

Persons interested in speaking on any agenda item may **submit a blue "Request to Speak" card in person prior to the beginning of public testimony or may sign up to speak telephonically <u>here</u> no later than 90 minutes prior to the meeting.** Those wishing to speak are customarily given three minutes to speak on each item. Additional time may be granted to a designated speaker representing two or more persons (please submit cards together). Persons interested in submitting a written comment on any item

may submit a yellow "Written Comments" card in person prior to the beginning of public testimony or may submit digitally here no later than 90 minutes prior to the meeting.

CONSENT AGENDA

2. Planning Commission Annual Report for 2021

The Planning Commission will review and may discuss the Planning Commission Annual Report for 2021.

Item No. 2; Commissioner Scarbrough moved to approve the Planning Commission Annual Report for 2021. Seconded by Commissioner Serena, the motion carried unanimously with a vote of seven (7) to zero (0).

3. 11-UP-2021 (Renegade Clubhouse)

Request by owner to amend 20 acres of a 900-acre site, to modify existing Conditional Use Permits for a Golf Course use (59-UP-1985, 83-UP-1985, and 24-UP-1986) for the construction of a new golf club house and associated amenities, to replace the existing Renegade Golf Course clubhouse, located at 38580 N. Desert Mountain Parkway, with Open Space, Environmentally Sensitive Lands (O-S/ESL) zoning designation. Staff contact person is Jesus Murillo, 480-312-7849. **Applicant contact person is Todd Bruen, (602) 680-8412**.

Item No. 3 moved to the regular agenda. Commissioner Serena moved to make a recommendation to City Council for approval of case 11-UP-2021, per the staff recommended stipulations, based upon the finding that the Conditional Use Permit criteria have been met. Seconded by Commissioner Ertel, the motion carried unanimously with a vote of seven (7) to zero (0).

REGULAR AGENDA

4. Planning Commission Election of Officers

Item No. 4; Commissioner Gonzales made a nomination for Commissioner Serena as Chair and Vice Chair Young made the nomination for Chair Higgs as chair. The motion for Commission Serena as Chair was denied by a vote of four (4) to three (3) with Chair Higgs, Vice Chair Young, Commissioner Scarbrough, Commissioner Ertel all voting against the nomination and Commissioner Gonzales, Commissioner Serena, and Commissioner Graham voting in favor of the nomination. The motion for Chair Higgs as Chair was approved by a vote of four (4) to three (3) with Chair Higgs, Vice Chair Young, Commissioner Scarbrough, Commissioner Ertel all voting in favor of the nomination and Commissioner Gonzales, Commissioner Serena, and Commissioner Graham all voting against the nomination.

persons with a disability may request a reasonable accommodation by contacting staff at (480-312-7767).

REQUESTS SHOULD BE MADE 24 HOURS IN ADVANCE, OR AS EARLY AS POSSIBLE TO ALLOW TIME TO ARRANGE ACCOMMODATION. FOR TTY USERS, THE ARIZONA RELAY SERVICE (1-800-367-8939) MAY CONTACT STAFF AT (480-312-7767).

Planning Commission Wednesday, January 12, 2022 Page **3** of **3**

Commissioner Scarbrough made a nomination for Vice Chair Young as Vice Chair and Commissioner Serena made a nomination for Commissioner Graham as Vice Chair. The motion for Vice Chair Young as Vice Chair was approved by a vote of four (4) to three (3) with Chair Higgs, Vice Chair Young, Commissioner Scarbrough, Commissioner Ertel all voting in favor of the nomination and Commissioner Gonzales, Commissioner Serena, and Commissioner Graham all voting against the nomination. With the approval of Vice Chair Young as Vice Chair, there was no further vote.

Adjournment - 5:25 PM