Approved 1/27/21 (BI)



### SCOTTSDALE PLANNING COMMISSION KIVA-CITY HALL 3939 DRINKWATER BOULEVARD SCOTTSDALE, ARIZONA

### WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 13, 2021

### \*SUMMARIZED MEETING MINUTES \*

PRESENT: Paul Alessio, Chair Prescott Smith, Vice Chair William Scarbrough, Commissioner Joe Young, Commissioner Barry Graham, Commissioner George Ertel, Commissioner Renee Higgs, Commissioner

### ABSENT:

### STAFF: Tim Curtis Margaret Wilson Bronte Ibsen Adam Yaron Bryan Cluff Keith Niederer

### CALL TO ORDER

Chair Alessio called the regular session of the Scottsdale Planning Commission to order at 5:00 p.m.

### ROLL CALL

A formal roll call was conducted confirming members present as stated above.

### MINUTES REVIEW AND APPROVAL

1. Approval of December 9, 2020 Regular Meeting Minutes.

Vice Chair Smith moved to approve the December 9, 2020 regular meeting minutes. Seconded by Commissioner Young, the motion carried unanimously with a vote of seven (7) to zero (0).

\* Note: These are summary action minutes only. A complete copy of the meeting audio is available on the Planning Commission page on ScottsdaleAZ.gov, search "Planning Commission"

Planning Commission January 13, 2021 Page 2 of 4

## **CONSENT AGENDA**

 <u>Planning Commission Annual Report for 2020</u> The Planning Commission will review, discuss, and possibly approve the Planning Commission Annual Report for 2020.

# Vice Chair Smith moved to approve the Planning Commission Annual Report for 2020. Seconded by Commissioner Young, the motion carried unanimously with a vote of seven (7) to zero (0).

The motion carried unanimously with a vote of seven (7) to zero (0); by Chair Alessio, Vice Chair Smith, Commissioner Scarbrough, Commissioner Young, Commissioner Ertel, Commissioner Graham, and Commissioner Higgs.

3. <u>9-UP-2015#3 (Level Up Scottsdale Retail Hours Extension)</u>

Request by owner for a renewal and amendment of an existing Conditional Use Permit for a medical marijuana use (dispensary) with a new five (5) year term, including revision to hours of operation from 9am - 7pm to 6am - 10pm, in a 3,770 square foot suite located at 14980 N. 78th Way, Suite 204 & 207, with Industrial Park (I-1) zoning. Staff contact person is Bryan Cluff, 480-312-2258. **Applicant contact person is Thomas Beyer**, (602)-633-5353.

Item No. 3; Recommended City Council approve case 9-UP-2015#3 by a vote of 7-0; Motion by Vice Chair Smith, per the staff recommended stipulations, based upon the finding that the Conditional Use Permit criteria have been met. 2<sup>nd</sup> by Commissioner Graham.

The motion carried unanimously with a vote of seven (7) to zero (0); by Chair Alessio, Vice Chair Smith, Commissioner Scarbrough, Commissioner Young, Commissioner Ertel, Commissioner Graham, and Commissioner Higgs.

### 4. <u>12-UP-2015#2 (Verizon PHO Poinsettia AZ01-020)</u>

Request by owner for renewal of a Conditional Use Permit case 12-UP-2015 for an existing Type 4 Wireless Communication Facility (WCF) located on a 60-foot tall artificial pine tree, located at 12000 N. 90th St. with Multiple-family Residential (R-5) zoning. Staff contact person is Keith Niederer, 480-312-2953. **Applicant contact person is Dino Pergola, (480) 773-4853**.

Item No. 4; Recommended City Council approve case 12-UP-2015#2 by a vote of 7-0; Motion by Vice Chair Smith, per the staff recommended stipulations, based upon the finding that the Conditional Use Permit criteria have been met. 2<sup>nd</sup> by Commissioner Graham.

\* Note: These are summary action minutes only. A complete copy of the meeting audio is available on the Planning Commission page on ScottsdaleAZ.gov, search "Planning Commission" Planning Commission January 13, 2021 Page 3 of 4

The motion carried unanimously with a vote of seven (7) to zero (0); by Chair Alessio, Vice Chair Smith, Commissioner Scarbrough, Commissioner Young, Commissioner Ertel, Commissioner Graham, and Commissioner Higgs.

### **Regular Agenda**

5. <u>5-GP-2020 (Hawkins - CSOK)</u>

Request by property owner for a non-major General Plan amendment from Minor Office to Neighborhood Commercial land use designation on the northern +/- 1.97 acres of an approximately +/- 5.01 gross acre site, for a retail and office development located at the southwest corner of N. 114th Street and E. Shea Boulevard. Staff contact person is Bryan Cluff, 480-312-2258. **Applicant contact person is Brittnee Elliott, 208-908-5637**.

### 6. 8-ZN-2020 (Hawkins - CSOK)

Request by property owner for a zoning district map amendment from Commercial Office (C-O) to Neighborhood Commercial (C-1) on +/- 1.97 acres, from Single-family Residential Planned Residential Development (R1-18 PRD) to Service Residential (S-R) on +/- 0.67 acres, and from Commercial Office (C-O) to Service Residential (S-R) on +/- 0.89 acres, all representing portions of an overall +/- 5.01 gross acre site, for a 2-lot residential subdivision and a retail/office development with approximately 15,000 square feet of floor area. Staff contact person is Bryan Cluff, 480-312-2258. **Applicant contact person is Brittnee Elliott, 208-908-5637**.

Items No. 5&6; Continued to the February 10<sup>th</sup>, 2021 Planning Commission hearing by a vote of 6-0; Motion by Commissioner Higgs, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Commissioner Ertel, with Vice Chair Smith recusing himself.

The motion carried unanimously with a vote of six (6) to zero (0); by Chair Alessio, Commissioner Scarbrough, Commissioner Young, Commissioner Ertel, Commissioner Graham, and Commissioner Higgs. Planning Commission January 13, 2021 Page 4 of 4

7. Planning Commission Election of Officers

### **Nomination for Chair:**

# Vice Chair Smith nominated Chair Alessio for Chair, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Commissioner Ertel; the motion passed by a vote of 7-0.

The motion carried unanimously with a vote of seven (7) to zero (0); by Chair Alessio, Vice Chair Smith, Commissioner Scarbrough, Commissioner Young, Commissioner Ertel, Commissioner Graham, and Commissioner Higgs.

### **Nomination for Vice-Chair:**

# Commissioner Young nominated Vice Chair Smith for Vice Chair, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Commissioner Scarbrough; the motion passed by a vote of 7-0.

The motion carried unanimously with a vote of seven (7) to zero (0); by Chair Alessio, Vice Chair Smith, Commissioner Scarbrough, Commissioner Young, Commissioner Ertel, Commissioner Graham, and Commissioner Higgs.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

With no further business to discuss, the regular session of the Planning Commission adjourned at 5:21 p.m.