

City of Scottsdale Protect and Preserve Scottsdale Task Force Regular Meeting Marked Agenda

4:00 p.m., Wednesday, February 8, 2023 Community Design Studio 7506 E. Indian School Road Scottsdale, AZ 85251

Call to Order 4:05 p.m.

Present:

Carla James Eaneman Nicholas Hartmann Jace McKeighan Daniel Schweiker Cynthia Wenstrom Mark Winkleman John Zikias Raoul Zubia

One or more members of the Protect and Preserve Scottsdale Task Force may be attending the meeting by telephone, video, or internet conferencing, pursuant to A.R.S. §38-431(4)

Public Comment

Citizens may address the members of Protect and Preserve Scottsdale Task Force during Public Comment. This "Public Comment" time is reserved for citizen comments regarding <u>non-agendized</u> items. Arizona State law prohibits Protect and Preserve Scottsdale Task Force from discussing or taking action on an item that is not on the prepared agenda. Citizens may complete one Request to Speak "Public Comment" card per meeting and submit it to City Staff. **Public testimony is limited to three (3) minutes per speaker.**

Written comment cards are being accepted for both agendized and non-agendized items and may be submitted to City Staff at any time. Cards submitted after public testimony has begun will be provided to the Protect and Preserve Scottsdale Task Force at the conclusion of the testimony for that item.

1. Introductions

Staff and Task Force Members will introduce themselves. **Task Force Action**: Information and discussion

2. Approve Proposed Meeting Calendar – View Calendar

Gina Kirklin, Finance Director, will present the dates, times, and locations of the planned Task Force meetings for the 2023 calendar year for discussion and approval by the Task Force. **Task Force Action**: Information, discussion, and action

APPROVED: 9-0 motion by Member Zubia, 2nd Member by Member McKeighan; Member Carla, Member Eaneman, Member Hartmann, Member McKeighan, Member Schweiker, Member Wenstrom, Member Winkleman, Member Zikias, Member Zubia voted in the affirmative; there were no dissenting votes.

3. Adopt Task Force Bylaws – View Bylaws

Gina Kirklin, Finance Director, and Kim Campbell, Senior Assistant City Attorney will present proposed bylaws for the Task Force to adopt as the rules and regulations for the Task Force. **Task Force Action**: Information, discussion, and action

APPROVED: 9-0 motion by Member Eaneman, 2nd Member by Member Schweiker; Member Carla, Member Eaneman, Member Hartmann, Member McKeighan, Member Schweiker, Member Wenstrom, Member Winkleman, Member Zikias, Member Zubia voted in the affirmative; there were no dissenting votes.

4. Overview of Protect and Preserve Scottsdale Task Force Work Plan – <u>View Work Plan</u> Sonia Andrews, City Treasurer/Chief Financial Officer, with the assistance of other city staff, will review the City Council adopted work plan for the Task Force and discuss the information that will be provided by staff for each task. The Task Force may discuss and provide direction to staff on requests for additional items or information that may help the Task Force carry out the work plan. Task Force Action: Information and discussion

5. Task Force Nomination and Election of Chair and Vice Chair

The Task Force will receive self-nominations and consider additional nominations to serve as Chair and a Vice Chair. The Task Force will consider statements from nominees, discuss and elect a Chair and Vice Chair to take office immediately upon completion of nominations and voting, to serve in accordance with the adopted bylaws.

Task Force Action: Information, discussion, and action

CHAIR ELECTION:

Self-nomination prior to the meeting of Member Wenstrom for Chair.

APPROVED: 9-0 motion by Member McKeighan, 2nd by Member Eaneman; Member Carla, Member Eaneman, Member Hartmann, Member McKeighan, Member Schweiker, Member Wenstrom, Member Winkleman, Member Zikias, and Member Zubia voted in the affirmative; there were no dissenting votes.

VICE CHAIR ELECTION:

Self-nomination prior to the meeting of Member Carla for Vice Chair. Self-nomination during the meeting of Member Zubia for Vice Chair. Motion by Member Zikias to elect Member Zubia as Vice Chair, 2nd by Member Schweiker. Alternate motion by Member Hartmann to elect Member Carla as Vice Chair, 2nd by Member McKeighan. The motion to elect Member Carla as Vice Chair failed by a vote of 6-3, with Member Eaneman, Member McKeighan, Member Schweiker, Member Winkleman, Member Zikias, and Member Zubia voting against the election, and Member Carla, Member Hartmann, and Member Wenstrom voting in the affirmative. The motion to elect Member Zubia as Vice Chair carried by a vote of 6-3, with Member Eaneman, Member McKeighan, Member McKeighan, Member Zubia as Vice Chair carried by a vote of 6-3, with Member Eaneman, Member McKeighan, Member Schweiker, Member Hartmann, and Member Zikias, and Member Zubia voting in the affirmative. The motion to elect Member Zubia as Vice Chair carried by a vote of 6-3, with Member Eaneman, Member McKeighan, Member Zubia as Vice Chair carried by a vote of 6-3, with Member Eaneman, Member McKeighan, Member Schweiker, Member Winkleman, Member Zikias, and Member Zubia voting in the affirmative; Member Carla, Member Hartmann, and Member Wenstrom, were dissenting votes.

Adjournment – 5:18 p.m.

APPROVED: 9-0 motion by Member McKeighan, 2nd Member Eaneman; Member Carla, Member Eaneman, Member Hartmann, Member McKeighan, Member Schweiker, Member Wenstrom, Member Winkleman, Member Zikias, Member Zubia voted in the affirmative; there were no dissenting votes.

Persons with a disability may request a reasonable accommodation by contacting Carol Banegas Stankus at 480-312-2427. Requests should be made 24 hours in advance, or as early as possible, to allow time to arrange the accommodation. For TTY users, the Arizona Relay Service (1-800-367-8939) may contact Carol Banegas Stankus 480-312-2427.